Join FamilySearch for the Worldwide Indexing Day

FamilySearch Indexing 2Genealogists and historians owe so much to volunteer indexers all around the world. There’s no doubt that ALL of us have used indexes, be it on websites, in printed books or using database CDs. We all use them to help us find our family. And while we do have the occasional frustration of not finding someone, or finding something indexed incorrectly, you have to admit that having them is better than not having them.

While there are many indexing projects going on, at a local level, at state level and also country level – big ones and small ones – there’s many that you could join in with. But today I’m just going to mention FamilySearch’s Worldwide Indexing Day.

The world’s biggest genealogy organisation, FamilySearch, on average adds about 500,000 images to their website a week, and through their current volunteer indexers they get about a million entries indexed in the same timeframe. A single scanned image might have one name on it, or it might have fifty names on it – it simply depends on the type of document, so you’ll see that there’s a whole lot of indexing that needs doing.

For the past few years FamilySearch have held a “worldwide indexing day”. This is held to inspire many to start indexing, while also prompting existing indexers to do a little more (at least on that day). Running for 24 hours this events starts on Sunday July 20, 6pm MDT time in the US,  which for us here in Australia translates to Monday July 21, 10am (AEST).

The following is from the FamilySearch Indexing Facebook page:

“Join volunteers from around the world on July 20 and 21 for an international history-making event! The goal? For 50,000 indexers and arbitrators to submit at least one batch in a 24-hour period! Do more if you would like, but one batch is all that is required to be counted in the record!

This remarkable goal will require help from every current indexer and arbitrator out there, plus many new volunteers, but it can be achieved if generous volunteers like you commit to participate. So mark your calendar, and spread the word! Share this invitation with your Facebook friends and family now. Everyone is needed. Everyone can make a difference!

No matter where you live or what language you speak, you can participate and add to this historic worldwide achievement.

The event begins at 00:00 coordinated universal time (UTC) on July 21, which is 6:00 p.m. mountain daylight time (MDT or Utah time) on Sunday, July 20. It ends 24 hours later, at 23:59 UTC (or 5:59 p.m. MDT) on Monday, July 21. Local start times are below.

One batch is all it takes. Don’t miss your chance on July 20 and 21 to be part of this history-making event! Plan now to get involved and add your name to the record-setting legacy!

Now if you have never indexed on FamilySearch before, and have no idea on how to go about doing it – don’t fear. You’re not alone. Simply take an hour, and watch DearMyrt’s recent Hang out Air video (the one below). In it she takes first-timers through the steps of what is involved in setting up an account, how to get to the Indexing page, how to choose a batch, how to index, the rules of indexing and how to submit the batch once you’ve completed it. As well as covering what to do if you only get part way through the batch as well as numerous other questions.

If you are interested in indexing, you don’t have to wait Don’t wait to the last minute to get involved. In fact you can get started right away. Go to https://FamilySearch.org/indexing and find a project that interests you and get involved. Do some practicing before the July 20, 2014 Indexing Event. Dear Myrt says, “pay-it-forward” – every entry that you index is one that someone will be looking for. So every entry indexed makes a difference.

FamilySearch Indexing 1a

Currently you do need to download the indexing program to your computer, by FamilySearch have said that there is a new indexing program coming soon with no software to download, which will allows you to index anytime you are connected and you will soon be able to index from your tablet.

Share the news about this Worldwide Indexing Event and get involved.

Start times for various locations:
Anchorage, Alaska: July 20 @ 4:00 PM
Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Paris, Rome, Stockholm, Warsaw: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
Phoenix, Arizona: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
Sydney, Australia: July 21 @ 10:00 AM
São Paulo, Brazil: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
Los Angeles, California: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
Ottawa, Canada: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
Santiago, Chile: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
London, England: July 21 @ 1:00 AM
Honolulu, Hawaii: July 20 @ 2:00 PM

Chicago, Illinois: July 20 @ 7:00 PM
Osaka, Japan: July 21 @ 9:00 AM
New York City, New York: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
Moscow, Russia: July 21 @ 4:00 AM
Johannesburg, South Africa: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
Kyiv, Ukraine: July 21 @ 3:00 AM
Salt Lake City, Utah: July 20 @ 6:00 PM

Keep up to date:
FamilySearch Indexing event on Facebook
FamilySearch Indexing on Facebook
FamilySearch Indexing on Twitter
FamilySearch Indexing on Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *