Top 100 Genealogy Websites for 2014

top 100Ever wondered what the Top 100 genealogy websites are? Well wonder no more as GenealogyInTime Magazine have just released their  Top 100 Genealogy Websites list.

Listing genealogy websites from around the world it certainly makes interesting reading. Many old favorites made the list as well as a bunch of interesting new genealogy websites.  And there were some rising stars that made significant gains this year.

One of those that made a ‘significant gain’ was this here genealogy blog (Genealogy & History News). Can you believe we actually made it into the Top 100 Genealogy websites list? Last year we ranked 157, but this year have leaped into 87th spot! I’m so in honoured (and in awe) of making this list. And the lovely people at GenealogyinTime Magazine had this to say about us …

“At #87 Gould Genealogy is the leading genealogy services firm from Australia. They provide everything from ancestral records to genealogy cruises and are a must stop for anyone with Australian ancestors.”

We were one of 15 newbies who made the Top 100 list for the first time, and in fact we were one of only two Australian sites that made it onto the list, with Ancestry.com.au being the other one.

Apart from just seeing who made the list, and who didn’t the annual review also provides some interesting insight into emerging trends in the field of genealogy.

Be sure to check out the full article on the Top 100 Genealogy Websites, as it not only provides details of how the list is calculated, but also further information on many of those who made the list. Click here for the full article.

Top 100 Genealogy Websites for 2014 from GenealogyInTime Magazine
www.genealogyintime.com
Rank Website Category Country Free Pay 2013 Rank Address
1 Ancestry.com records USA pay 1 http://www.ancestry.com/
2 Find A Grave cemetery USA free 3 http://www.findagrave.com/
3 FamilySearch records USA free 4 https://www.familysearch.org/
4 MyHeritage.com family tree USA pay 2 http://www.myheritage.com/
5 Geni.com family tree USA pay 5 http://www.geni.com/
6 Ancestry.co.uk records UK pay 6 http://www.ancestry.co.uk/
7 GeneaNet family tree France free 8 http://www.geneanet.org/
8 Archives.com records USA pay 7 http://www.archives.com/
9 Genealogy.com records USA pay 9 http://genealogy.com/
10 Genealogy Bank newspapers USA pay 11 http://www.genealogybank.com/gbnk/
11 Eastman’s Newsletter blog USA free 22 http://blog.eogn.com/
12 Ancient Faces forum USA free 12 http://www.ancientfaces.com/
13 Arkivverket Digitalarkivet records Norway free 13 http://arkivverket.no/eng/content/view/full/629
14 Family Tree DNA DNA testing USA pay 17 http://www.familytreedna.com/
15 Ancestry.ca records Canada pay 19 http://www.ancestry.ca/
16 GenealogyInTime Magazine magazine Canada free 21 http://www.genealogyintime.com/
17 Ancestry.com.au records Australia pay 16 http://www.ancestry.com.au/
18 FindMyPast UK records UK pay 14 http://www.findmypast.co.uk/
19 Fold3 records USA pay 20 http://www.fold3.com/
20 MyHeritage.no family tree Norway pay 18 http://www.myheritage.no/
21 WikiTree family tree USA free 31 http://www.wikitree.com/
22 Newspaper Archive newspapers USA pay 13 http://www.newspaperarchive.com/
23 Roots Chat forum UK free 42 http://rootschat.com/
24 Mundia family tree USA pay 39 http://www.mundia.com/
25 Genealogie.com family tree France pay 23 http://www.genealogie.com/
26 Newspapers.com newspapers USA pay 78 http://www.newspapers.com/
27 Genealogy.About.com articles USA free 28 http://genealogy.about.com/
28 Mocavo search engine USA pay 25 http://www.mocavo.com/
29 MyFamily forum USA pay 10 https://www.myfamily.com/
30 Genes Reunited records UK pay 24 http://www.genesreunited.co.uk/
31 JTA Jewish News Archive newspapers USA free 32 http://archive.jta.org/
32 USGenweb Archives records USA free 26 http://usgwarchives.net/
33 JewishGen ethnic heritage USA free 34 http://www.jewishgen.org/
34 DIS-Norway society Norway free n/a http://www.disnorge.no
35 Steve Morse search engine USA free 56 http://stevemorse.org/
36 MyHeritage.es family tree Spain pay 37 http://www.myheritage.es/
37 Cyndi’s List links USA free 35 http://cyndislist.com/
38 EllisIsland.org records USA free 30 http://www.ellisisland.org/
39 World Vital Records records USA pay 29 http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/
40 Genealogy Trails records USA free 50 http://genealogytrails.com/
41 Family Tree Magazine magazine USA pay 43 http://www.familytreemagazine.com/
42 Free BMD records UK free 36 http://www.freebmd.org.uk/
43 American Ancestors society USA pay 38 http://www.americanancestors.org/
44 ProGenealogists services USA pay 81 http://www.progenealogists.com/
45 Tribal Pages family tree USA pay 44 http://tribalpages.com/
46 Billion Graves cemetery USA free 110 http://billiongraves.com/
47 British History Online records UK free 59 http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
48 ScotlandsPeople records Scotland pay 53 http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
49 Legacy Family Tree software USA pay 51 http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
50 Fulton History newspapers USA free 45 http://fultonhistory.com/
51 MyHeritage.fr family tree France pay 49 http://www.myheritage.fr/
52 Daughters American Revolution society USA pay 57 http://dar.org/
53 Ahnenforschung.net forum Germany free 65 http://ahnenforschung.net/
54 Genealogie Online family tree Netherlands pay 85 http://www.genealogieonline.nl/
55 MyHeritage.de family tree Germany pay 40 http://www.myheritage.de/
56 Genoom family tree Spain free 70 http://www.genoom.com/
57 British Newspaper Archive newspapers UK pay 66 http://www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk/
58 Genealogy Today records USA pay 67 http://genealogytoday.com/
59 FindMyPast.com records USA pay 48 http://www.findmypast.com
60 Roots Ireland records Ireland pay 83 http://www.rootsireland.ie/
61 RootsMagic software USA pay 63 http://www.rootsmagic.com/
62 thePeerage records UK free 60 http://thepeerage.com/
63 Canada’s Anglo-Celtic Connections blog Canada free 95 http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/
64 WieWasWie records Netherlands free 104 https://www.wiewaswie.nl/
65 MyHeritage.pl family tree Poland pay 69 http://www.myheritage.pl/
66 Interment cemetery USA free 55 http://interment.net/
67 MyTrees family tree USA pay 52 http://www.mytrees.com/
68 FamilyLink records USA pay 41 http://www.familylink.com/
69 Family Tree Webinars magazine USA pay n/a http://www.familytreewebinars.com
70 Genuki records UK free 58 http://genuki.org.uk/
71 MyHeritage.com.br family tree Brazil pay 64 http://www.myheritage.com.br/
72 Forces War Records records UK pay 72 http://www.forces-war-records.co.uk/
73 MyHeritage.nl family tree Netherlands pay 61 http://www.myheritage.nl/
74 The Genealogist records UK pay 92 http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/
75 Ancestry.se records Sweden pay 109 http://www.ancestry.se/
76 Family Tree Maker software USA pay 62 http://familytreemaker.com/
77 Commonwealth War Graves records UK free 93 http://www.cwgc.org/
78 Dansk Demografisk Database records Denmark free 144 http://ddd.dda.dk/ddd_en.htm
79 Irish Genealogical Research Society society Ireland pay n/a http://www.irishancestors.ie/
80 FindMyPast Ireland records Ireland pay 116 http://www.findmypast.ie/
81 Geneabloggers blog USA free 89 http://www.geneabloggers.com/
82 Heritage Quest Online records USA pay 74 http://www.heritagequestonline.com/
83 Ancestry.de records Germany pay 68 http://www.ancestry.de/
84 sysoon cemetery USA free 46 http://www.sysoon.com/
85 Death Indexes links USA free 76 http://www.deathindexes.com/
86 We Relate wiki USA free 54 http://www.werelate.org/
87 Gould Genealogy services Australia pay 157 http://www.gouldgenealogy.com/
88 Geneawiki wiki France free 86 http://www.geneawiki.com/
89 Genea-Musings blog USA free 80 http://www.geneamusings.com/
90 MyHeritage.se family tree Sweden pay n/a http://www.myheritage.se/
91 Volksbund records Germany free 134 http://www.volksbund.de/
92 ObituariesHelp.org links USA free 47 http://www.obituarieshelp.org/
93 MyHeritage.it family tree Italy pay 100 http://www.myheritage.it/
94 Access Genealogy search engine USA free 71 http://www.accessgenealogy.com/
95 Ontario Genealogical Society society Canada free 77 http://www.ogs.on.ca/
96 Automated Genealogy records Canada free 73 http://www.automatedgenealogy.com/
97 Ancestry.fr records France pay n/a http://www.ancestry.fr/
98 USGenweb Project records USA free 113 http://www.usgenweb.org/
99 Familiaridade family tree Brazil free 142 http://www.familiaridade.com.br/
100 Irish Genealogy records Ireland free 117 http://www.irishgenealogy.ie/
As of January 2014

 

 

logo - Genealogy in Time

5 Comments Post a Comment
  1. I used to be recommended this web site via my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether or not this publish is written by way of
    him as nobody else know such unique about my problem. You’re amazing!
    Thank you!

    For a better informative review please click the link
    to this site legal testosterone supplements

  2. hcg levels says:

    Anyone who is interested in this plan can find numerous recipes and resources on the Internet.
    No one has to live with the discomfort of nasal congestion. These picnic spots and weekend gateways are spread along the borders ofthe city.

    My weblog hcg levels

  3. There is a collection of yoga pants like this at Target,
    that come in various color. They shed moisture with ease (but you’re shorts will be soaked) to eliminate chafing from wet fabric in direct contact with skin. It is possible to use white yoga pants for a good deal of purposes.

    My web site; pelvic floor exercises during and after pregnancy a systematic review

  4. ӏn a blind panic, I ߋpened а spare bottle off
    sparkling wine I had about the house even thougɦ I’d hoped not to have
    to rink that day. “The list of people below are all members of the 27 club, having been musicians that died at the age of twenty seven. What is certain is that things have changed beyond all measure in the West in the last half century or so to the extent that in 2010, the age-old dream of political and artistic radicals, and their allies within the realms of religion, philosophy, psychology, science etc.

    Take a look at my blog … education connection girl

  5. So in this case, hair loss treatment for women might benefit them get over it,
    and it will likely to help their hair grow even more than before,
    and faster than using natural hair loss treatment as you all know.
    It is often mixed with other oils to keep cost down but still provide benefits.
    The magnitude, the effect rate, and the duration of the
    hair loss depend on the phase when the interference occurred.

    Feel free to visit my web-site hair restoration technology

Leave a Reply